Can I use Raspberry Pi 400?
Started by weavermedia

4 posts in this topic
weavermedia

2 posts 1 threads Joined: Jun 2022
17-06-22, 06:05 -
I'm new to Raspberry Pi and SamplerBox. Can I run it on a Pi 400? Looks like the specs are pretty much the same as a 4 - just a little faster clock speed on the 400.

I'm struggling to find stock of a regular 4 anywhere so hoping I can use a 400 just to get started.

https://all3dp.com/2/raspberry-pi-400-vs...fferences/
hansehv

168 posts 17 threads Joined: Dec 2020
17-06-22, 20:02 -
Hi Weavermedia.
I haven't received any signals of anyone using it, but it's essentially a raspberry 4, released in 2020
Samplerbox can run raspberry 4 and is currently based on raspbian buster, which was released a year later. I can draw just one conclusion from that  Wink

Keep in mind samplerbox is supposed to run headless - a keyboard is only needed at system install (which is done) and a system crash that destroying the networking part.
That drills down to almost zero.
Since the system is readonly to withstand stage environment, the poweron/off button doesn't add value here either.
At my normal reseller I saw the 4Gb model for 60 euros and the 400 for 95 euros. For 92 euros you get a Pi4 with 8Gb.

Memsize could be a consideration as the active sample set (=your instrument = the size of the sample folder) has to be loaded completely in RAM.
Experience learns this a seldom a limitation; a large instrument like the grandpiano can be loaded in 2G.

Speed difference is really very small. If samplerbox is used in a way that speed becomes a problem, you'll cross that next border as well.

But if you have a 400, it's a perfect way to start, even an unused 3B can do the job in most circumstances.
I even tested on a 2B just for compatibility, which worked. But I'd say: good for testing, not to be used in full musician style with effects and such goodies. The effects are the killing part, plain instruments like grand piano have no issues.

Have fun,
Hans